f1 cars racing at the european grand prix

As one of the most exciting events of the late 1990s and early 2000s, the Formula One European Grand Prix holds a special place in the hearts of Formula One fans worldwide. This annual race saw some exciting moments in the history of this sport. Today, we look back on the history of the European Grand Prix and investigate the race’s potential future.

A Well-Loved Racing Tradition

Long before the event was given a formal title, Formula One fans across the European continent enjoyed annual races put on by the Association Internationale des Automobile Clubs Reconnus (AIACR). This was a precursor to the Federation Internationale de l’Automobile. These races were held in various different countries over the years, and each was labeled in honour of their host nation. The first of its kind was the Italian Grand Prix, won by Carlo Salamano in 1923.

By the mid-1980s, the European Grand Prix had become part of the Formula One World Championship. Its first introduction to the Championship was actually an accident! An American venue fell through during the 1983 competition, so, as a way to quickly solve the problem, organisers moved the race to the UK.

As an integral part of the World Championship, this well loved race took place in countries such as Spain and Germany. It became so successful that there was even talk of hosting an Asian Grand Prix, as a method of spreading the sport outside of Western countries. Though the conversations never came to fruition, the Grand Prix remained incredibly popular. The race continued to be run each year until 2012, when the European Grand Prix was formally discontinued.

f1 baku sign floating on the sea

A Formula One Race Gone, But Not Forgotten

Though the European Grand Prix is now officially a thing of the past, the Formula One organisation has continued to pay tribute to this once well-loved and attended race. In 2016, the title was brought back as a one-off in Azerbaijan. The race was later renamed the Azerbaijan Grand Prix the following year, but the temporary title goes to show how strongly racing fans carry the memory of the event with them.

Earlier this year, Formula One chief executive, Stefano Domenicali, stated that further races are not guaranteed to take place in Europe at all, much less under the iconic title. With the lowering of travel restrictions worldwide, as well as globally trending interest in the sport, Formula One leadership is looking to expand its appeal to audiences the world over.

Sad as this may seem for European Grand Prix fans, there is optimism to be taken in the fact that this sport continues to reach people far and wide.

If you’re looking to experience a Formula One Grand Prix for yourself, Grand Prix Adventures would love to help you get there. Contact us today to learn more about upcoming races!

European Grand Prix Winners:

Year  Driver    Constructor    Location
1983   Brazilian Flag   Nelson Piquet     Brabham-BMW       British Flag   Brands Hatch
1984   french Flag   Alain Prost     McLaren-TAG       german Flag   Nürburgring GP-Strecke
1985   British Flag   Nigel Mansell     Williams-Honda       British Flag   Brands Hatch
1993   Brazilian Flag   Ayrton Senna     McLaren-Ford       British Flag   Donington
1994   german Flag   Michael Schumacher     Benetton-Ford       Spanish Flag   Jerez
1995   german Flag   Michael Schumacher     Benetton-Renault       german Flag   Nürburgring GP-Strecke
1996   canadian Flag   Jacques Villeneuve     Williams-Renault       german Flag   Nürburgring GP-Strecke
1997   finland Flag   Mika Häkkinen     McLaren-Mercedes       Spanish Flag   Jerez
1999   British Flag   Johnny Herbert     Stewart-Ford       german Flag   Nürburgring GP-Strecke
2000   german Flag   Michael Schumacher     Ferrari       german Flag   Nürburgring GP-Strecke
2001   german Flag   Michael Schumacher     Ferrari       german Flag   Nürburgring GP-Strecke
2002   brazil Flag   Rubens Barrichello     Ferrari       german Flag   Nürburgring GP-Strecke
2003   german Flag   Ralf Schumacher     Williams-BMW       german Flag   Nürburgring GP-Strecke
2004   german Flag   Michael Schumacher     Ferrari       german Flag   Nürburgring GP-Strecke
2005   spanish Flag   Fernando Alonso     Renault       german Flag   Nürburgring GP-Strecke
2006   german Flag   Michael Schumacher     Ferrari       german Flag   Nürburgring GP-Strecke
2007   spanish Flag   Fernando Alonso     McLaren-Mercedes       german Flag   Nürburgring GP-Strecke
2008   brazil Flag   Felipe Massa     Ferrari       spanish Flag   Valencia
2009   brazil Flag   Rubens Barrichello     Brawn-Mercedes       spanish Flag   Valencia
2010   german Flag   Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull-Renault       spanish Flag   Valencia
2011   german Flag   Sebastian Vettel     Red Bull-Renault       spanish Flag   Valencia
2012   spanish Flag   Fernando Alonso     Ferrari       spanish Flag   Valencia
2016   german Flag   Nico Rosberg     Mercedes       Azerbaijan  Flag   Baku

formula one cars racing at the grand prix in valencia


call us banner with uk number call us banner with usa number