Verstappen Claims Pole Position In An Exciting Qualifying Session At The British GP

alpha tauri racing car leaving the pits

Where Are Mercedes These Days At The British Grand Prix

Lando Norris' hopes of snatching the British Grand Prix pole position were dashed when Max Verstappen took the top spot in the final seconds of a thrilling qualifying session.

To the excitement of the Silverstone spectators, Norris pushed to the top of the order, only for Verstappen to steal pole by 0.241 seconds as the final driver to cross the finish line.

At the British team's home race, Norris will start alongside Verstappen, who won his seventh straight pole position, with Oscar Piastri finishing third.

Only eighth overall, Lewis Hamilton fell behind George Russell in the other Mercedes by one position.

Verstappen overcame the erratic weather and an incident in the pit lane where he damaged his front wing to claim the historic pole position, finishing two tenths ahead of the fervent home favourite Norris and a further tenth ahead of Piastri.

Positions four through seven were filled by Ferrari and Mercedes, with Charles Leclerc beating Carlos Sainz and George Russell, ahead of Lewis Hamilton, who had escaped a severe spin at the start of qualifying.

Alex Albon and Williams converted their good practice pace as the session progressed, emerging with P8 ahead of Aston Martin driver Fernando Alonso and the Alpine of Pierre Gasly after flirting with a Q1 exit on a slick track.

Lance Stroll and Esteban Ocon, were unable to make it 2 Aston Martins and Alpines in the top 10 shootout because they got in each other's way at the conclusion of Q2, Nico Hulkenberg finished qualifying as the fastest of the Haas drivers in 11th, with his tea-mate Kevin Magnussen way back in 19th place.

What is the starting grid for the British Grand Prix?

1) Max Verstappen
2) Lando Norris
3) Oscar Piastri
4) Charles Leclerc
5) Carlos Sainz
6) George Russell
7) Lewis Hamilton
8) Alex Albon
9) Fernando Alonso
10) Pierre Gasly
11) Nico Hulkenberg
12) Lance Stroll
13) Esteban Ocon
14) Logan Sargeant
15) Valtteri Bottas
16) Sergio Perez
17) Yuki Tsunoda
18) Zhou Guanyu
19) Nyck De Vries
20) Kevin Magnussen
scroll up